Following Jesus | N. T. Wright

I bought this book from under the mistaken impression that it was published in 2009. There’s still nothing to indicate different on the website. Just to be clear, this collection of sermons which was loosely transformed into a book was first published in 1994. The Eerdmans paperback version selling on Amazon was printed in 2009.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get to the book. It’s divided into two sections. The first six sermons take one whole book of the Bible per message and speak about the main point the author is trying to get across. The messages are okay, but they’re nothing special.

The second six sermons really shine. They’re written on classic N. T. Wright themes: resurrection, mind, temptation, hell, heaven, and new life. These messages were filled with excitement and challenge. You can really tell which themes Wright was passionate about back at the genesis of his Christian Origins series.

Buy the book, but feel free to skim the first half!

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes